The first week of Phase One on the Maker’s Diet is coming to a close, and I immediately picture us walking through the dessert with an Oasis in sight. Dramatic? Perhaps you wouldn’t think so if you had taken every ounce of sugar and carbohydrate from a diet that had previously consisted largely of grains and chocolate. With the four of us giving it all we have for seven days straight, we came to one major decision. First and foremost – there’s no way we can do Phase One for another week.

Before coming to any conclusions about a lack of willpower or weakness on our parts, let me state that we’ve all noticed a significant increase in appetite, decrease in energy, and loss of weight. Being hungry even after a large meal, we knew that it wouldn’t be healthy for us to continue in this pattern for much longer. If so, our goal of making this a lifestyle change would burn out and we would probably be found in a dark pantry somewhere, stuffing our faces with Twinkies and Wonder Bread. Jointly, it was agreed that Phase Two would allow us a few more complex carbohydrates that would keep us a bit fuller, and also offer us more choices so that we didn’t fizzle. Since the Maker’s Diet clearly states that even beginning at Phase Three would be the best decision you’ve ever made for your body, I’ll say the new plan will work wonderfully.

Starting tomorrow, we will be on Phase Two for one week, and then switch to Phase Three from there on out. And what better time to decide this than right before the holidays? With sweet potato casserole and mashed potatoes steaming in glistening dishes that seem to shimmy and shake to get our attention, it will be much better to make my own healthy alternatives and bring along with me – by that phase I can add Sweet Potatoes and other ingredients that the cold weather calls for!

Never have I seen my husband and brother so excited at the prospect of eating a greater variety of nuts. With our only option being almonds and some seeds last week, both guys eyed the trays of Macadamia nuts, Hazelnuts, and Pecans with wonder as they lay drying after being soaked. Sour Cream, Cow Milk and Cheese, and Apples have taken on an almost sacred appearance, and everyone is rejoicing at the idea of a Phase Two Celebration dinner tomorrow night including Chili, Sour Cream, and Baked Sweet Potatoes.

For me, the Maker’s Diet was started as a means of liberating myself from modern food, allowing me to become healthier while also eating real foods and getting away from the body image issues that consume most women. Phase One of the program did not allow me to do that, instead consuming me with thoughts of my next meal even while putting away my dishes from the current one. Weight loss was not an option for me, and even though my pants aren’t much looser, even a slight change was enough to alert me that changes should be made. Today I purchased Sally Fallon’s Nourishing Traditions cookbook, and I am excited to share recipes and information with you as I progress in this nourishing lifestyle! Now, on to Phase Two!

2 thoughts on “Life Without Carbs – Not For the Faint of Heart (or Willpower)

  1. I have to say that I would have a very hard time with Phase 1 of this diet as well. Glad to see you are listening to your bodies and moving on to phase 2 a little ealier than scheduled.

    I hope all of you enjoy all of this weeks food choices very much…As Julia would say “Bon appetit”!!

  2. I love the way you can make me laugh at hunger. Twinkies and Wonder Bread! Phase two here you come and may it be a welcomed freedom

Leave a Reply

