Lately I’ve been consuming a curiously excessive amount of peanut butter. With my breakfast, with bananas or apples as a snack, and with my finger straight out of the jar. I’m not proud. In fact, I feel there may be some type of addictive enzyme in peanut butter that forces me to stuff it into my face the way Garfield ravages Lasagna.

I make almond butter and try to eat that instead, but wind up mixing some peanut butter with it to make it more enjoyable. With baking season in full swing, and holiday get-togethers happening every other day, it would be in my best interest to stay away from extra food no matter the type. Instead I gravitate to the kitchen, not bothering to turn on the lights, and hop onto the counter with my hand already in the cabinet while I unscrew the lid on the jar of creamy goodness.

Luckily I’ve been able to redirect my love of nuts into my cooking for others. My husband’s last day of class is tomorrow, and he’ll be toting an extra large container filled to the brim with peanut buttery confections (and some Chocolate Chip Cookies, because well, those are always a winner). The Buckeyes are hands down his current crave at all times of the day, but the “Reese’s” Peanut Butter Cups have come in at a close second. They’re his favorite store-bought candy, so I consider it a personal triumph that he swooned after taking a bite.

Peanut Butter Cups

  • 2 Bars of Dark Chocolate (at least 73%)
  • 6 Tbsp Creamy Peanut Butter (I prefer Earth Balance for this)
  • 3 tsp Nutritional Yeast
  • 12 Muffin Liners
  • Optional – Dash of Salt, Honey, or Vanilla extract

Melt 1 bar of the chocolate, either on the stove or in a bowl in the microwave. Put muffin liners on a small pan that will fit in your fridge for later on. Pour enough into each to cover the bottom, spreading with a spoon to make it even. In a bowl, mix peanut butter, nutritional yeast, and any of the options you want to add. After chocolate has hardened a bit, put a dab of the peanut butter mixture in the middle of each cup (again, spread with a spoon but don’t let mixture hit edges of liner). Melt the rest of the chocolate, and pour on top of the peanut butter. Spread it evenly, making sure it covers everything and hits the edges so that it will get the ridged look of a real Reese’s. Put them in the fridge and allow to harden fully.

This makes 12 Peanut Butter Cups and doesn’t take long at all!

12 thoughts on “An Unhealthy Obsession – With Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

  1. The Nut. Yeast just adds a slightly gritty texture to the peanut butter, making it more Reese’s-like. It does nothing for the flavor, in my opinion. I made the Buckeyes the same day as the Reese’s, and it seemed that the Nutritional Yeast added the chalkiness that I love about those store-bought peanut butter cups!

    Trust me, my husband is VERY picky about his sweets. He doesn’t want an alternative…he wants the real thing! And he really loved these. (I didn’t tell him about the Nutritional Yeast)

    With that in mind, it’s also optional. You can get much the same results with just peanut butter!

Leave a Reply

