When it comes to books, I am one of those pesky readers who will stick with a book once the cover has been opened and the binding loosened. For better or worse, ’til the words “The End” do us part. In fact, I can think of only one time when I have actually put a story down and never picked it back up – in order for this to happen I have to be convicted that the book has no redeemable quality, my time better spent elsewhere. Unless that happens, I may read multiple books at a time to get me through, but I will finish it all the way through and find out how it turns out.

Now I’m writing my own book, and I’ve been avoiding getting to the end for one particular reason. I can’t figure out how I want the story to wrap up. I’ve revised chapters over and over, penning them all down by hand first, typing them up as a next step, and reading through each line repeatedly, getting it to depict exactly what I can see in my mind’s eye. But now those steps have been repeated too many times; any more will be undeniable procrastination.

Apart from writing a “choose your own adventure” book, I must determine which direction my characters will go, and whether their adventure will truly be the end…or if they will appear again in the pages of another book.

Perhaps I’m procrastinating simply by writing this and describing my dilemma. In reality it sounds harmless; maybe only two or three chapters left to go, and then I will be on my way to the publishing process. But until then, those few chapters lay in the future, only a faint outline of what they will become. Tomorrow will be my D-day. Or E-day might be more appropriate. Tomorrow I will try to find my The End.

2 thoughts on “Seeing Something Through to the End

  1. I am so excited to read what you have created! I am certain it will be both entertaining and thought provoking, what more could you ask for in a truly good read? I am convinced your ending will be exactly as it should be. I haven’t read the prologue,
    yet I am anticipating the sequel!

Leave a Reply

