The Retro Entrance to 50's Prime Time Cafe

There are many places in Disney where you can stick to your diet, or your convictions, when it comes to choosing which menu item to order. Not so at the 50’s Prime Time Cafe in Hollywood Studios – or at least that was my experience when I looked over my choices. It reminded me of the wise words of Paula Deen, “I’m your Cook, Not your Doctor!”

Sure, they offer some items that would have been lower in fat, lower in calories, or lower in sodium. But they also would have been much lower in taste, and wouldn’t have given me the experience of this celebrated location that I had come for. The reservations had been booked long ago, and I knew I could find gluten free items while still having some good ‘ole homecookin’.

We had a wait of about 20 minutes, and were then sat in a very friendly, very LOUD waitress’s section. But that’s also the atmosphere you need to know about before coming here – the staff treats you like their own family, and that includes admonishments, teasing, and complaints about your not eating enough vegetables. They are also costumed in 50s housewife attire, complete with apron and wagging finger.

She understood I had a food allergy, and told the chef all about it. When he came out and discussed my choices, I was very excited to hear what I could have. With Entrees such as Fried Chicken, Meatloaf, and Pot Roast, the menu items really do take you back to your childhood, reminding many people of a time when they sat around the family dinner table as kids – I learned that I wouldn’t be left out of that journey!

We had the option to start off with a milkshake as our beverage choice, but we made that mistake last year at Sci-Fi. This time we just opted for water and ordered some appetizers.

Beer Battered Onion Rings
Aunt Annie’s Seafood Salad

Jeremy got the Onion Rings, which I was secretly envious of. While some places in Disney offer gluten free onion rings (such as Raglan Road), 50’s Prime Time’s version is deliciously beer battered, making them off limits to me. So he indulged in the two-person sized appetizer, and I chose Aunt Annie’s Seafood Salad. This came with Shrimp, Scallops and Crab tossed in a citrus vinaigrette. It was tasty, but I was saving room for my entree!

Fish Sandwich with More Tartar Sauce than Fish!

Jeremy isn’t one for the usual home-cooked meals that most people think of. He doesn’t like meatloaf, roast, pot pie – and usually likes his fried chicken in “nugget” form. So he bypassed the usuals and ordered the Fish Sandwich. An odd choice to be sure, but he really enjoyed it! I also think he was a little on the full side after all those onion rings!

Chicken Pot Pie - Oooey Gooey Goodness

I however, really like all that comfort food, and opted for Grandma’s Chicken Pot Pie! The chef shocked me when he said that he could make a gluten free version, so I happily took him up on it. It came out piping hot in a very large bowl, and in place of the crust were two large tapioca rolls to soak up all the gooey goodness. I was in heaven!

PB&J Milkshake - and me in the background enjoying my own dessert!

Of course the dessert menu was soon to come, and even though we were full, we had purposefully not ordered the milkshake at the beginning so that we could enjoy dessert. Jeremy got his favorite – the PB&J Milkshake. It tastes exactly like it sounds, and it’s fantastic! I had ordered a gluten free version last year from the bar section of the restaurant, and walked around the park with it for an afternoon snack.

Gluten Free Brownie with Tofutti Ice Cream

I had a special creation made – a Brownie Sundae with Tofutti Ice Cream. I was a little kid in the ice cream shop, wanting to bury my face in the plate that was set in front of me! Rarely do I get dessert anywhere, so my time at Disney is always a delicious indulgence.

We really like 50’s Prime Time. The theming is fun, the food is filling and offers a ride down memory lane, and the waitresses are an attraction in and of themselves!

This Blog is Part of Food Renegade’s Fight Back Fridays!
Leave a Reply

