I found a little time just now. It was sitting on the couch staring at me as my eyes glazed over from watching time creep by on the computer screen. Suddenly I spotted it though – it was waving to me, already turning its back and heading out the door. Time has a way of sneaking past usually, and you only recognize that it was there after the moment has passed. But this time I caught it before it got away from me.

But what to do with this time that I’ve captured? I really have nothing to say. The simple act of rambling is in itself a luxury this week. School has started, and I have to admit that I never expected grad school to be quite so hard. Yes, it’s not for the faint of heart. Yes, it has to be tough or everyone would do it. But I have no idea how anyone manages to keep a job (especially a full time job) and take two classes at once. I am just barely wedging in time to write this, and am beginning to feel guilty that I’m not currently stuck with my nose in a textbook.

But the bliss of learning – ahhh it’s sweet! To sit in a classroom and discuss what I had originally thought only I was interested in. That’s not something to take lightly. Finding like-minded people is something to be cherished. Sure, they may not see Maya Angelou’s words quite the way I do, but it’s nice to be able to talk about those words – to pry them open and pull out the meaty bits. Most of the time I am left in awe by the intelligence of others, and also left wondering how I can soak up some of their brilliance. Perhaps by osmosis I can lean over to one of them and just slightly brush against their sleeve. Will that help? No, I quickly forget about that idea, bowing my head. I pray. I pray. I pray…asking God to lean over and brush off on me instead.

2 thoughts on “Getting To Know Time

  1. These are the best of times, enjoy them all! It tends to slip by quickly, and before you know it you are looking back and thinking…where did it all go. It is fleeting, and it’s precious, and it will never be duplicated! I hope that you enjoy all of it and whatever you do don’t rush through it, take it all in, It is in enough of a hurry without our helping it along.

Leave a Reply

