Our condo is allowing Trick or Treaters to come knocking on everyone’s door this year, so I’ll be passing out Reese’s and Snickers with the best of them. I readily admit that Halloween candy is a weakness of mine, and more times than not I wind up with my hand in the candy cauldron along with the kiddos! This year the plan is to whip up some treats that I can indulge in, so that I won’t be eating the bad stuff – I found some great allergy friendly ideas!

Mounds Candy Bars

Almond Joys and Mounds are my very favorite, and they also happen to be quite easy to make! Elana uses a Mounds Candy Mould, so I will have to hunt one of those down. But there are only 4 ingredients, which makes up for the extra equipment.

  • Dark Chocolate Chips
  • Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
  • Coconut Oil
  • Agave Nectar (I will probably use Honey)

Peppermint Patties

My husband isn’t a fan of coconut, but he adores peppermint flavored candies! The use of coconut oil in this recipe doesn’t produce a coconut taste, especially with the strength of the peppermint oil. Once again, only 4 ingredients, and this time no extra moulds needed.

  • Coconut Oil
  • Agave (or Honey)
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Dark Chocolate Chips

Orange Apricot Clusters

This look so good! A few more ingredients than the rest of the recipes, but I think they will be more than worth it. The Spunky Coconut is such a fun blog for Allergy Friendly foods, and this is just an example.

  • Dark Chocolate Chips
  • Coconut Oil
  • Honey
  • Vanilla and Orange Extracts
  • Slivers Almonds
  • Dried Apricots

“Reese’s” Peanut Butter Cups

This one’s all for the husband! It’s my own recipe, and perhaps I’ll try to tweak it and make a few with almond butter and no Nutritional Yeast. But, I don’t think I can possibly get the consistency that I can with the Earth Balance Peanut Butter. Still, it may be worth a shot!

  • 2 Bars Dark Chocolate
  • Creamy Peanut Butter (Earth Balance)
  • Nutritional Yeast (Optional)
  • Dash of Salt, Honey, or Vanilla (also Optional)
This Blog is a part of Simple Lives Thursdays and Fight Back Fridays!
8 thoughts on “Treats, Not Tricks – Healthier Goodies for Halloween

Leave a Reply

