I tend to want to prove that allergy friendly-foods can also be palette-friendly. Perhaps it comes from the snide comments and awkward glances I get when I mention cooking or eating something that is “gluten free” or “vegan.” Holidays with my family is, like many others, centered around food. But the difference lies in the type of food – if it weren’t for me, there probably wouldn’t be a dessert in sight.

Taking it upon myself to provide the sweets this year, I set out looking for a recipe that everyone would enjoy…and I would be able to partake of, myself. Cakes and pies were among my top choices, but as my list of other foods to provide kept growing, my need for a simple dessert increased. These blondies provided the best of both worlds – and everyone seemed to love them!

Blondie (Pie)

  • 1 1/2 Cups Gluten Free Flour (I used King Arthur brand)
  • 1/4 Cups Gluten Free Rolled Oats
  • 3/4 Cups Organic Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp. Cinnamon
  • 1/2 Cup Oil (I used half Grapeseed and half Coconut)
  • 1/2 Cup Applesauce
  • 1 EnerG Egg Replacer
  • 1 1/2 Tsp. Vanilla
  • 1/2 Cup Chocolate Chips, plus more for Topping
  • 1/4 Cup Chopped Walnuts, plus more for Topping
  • 1/4 Cup Flaked Unsweetened Coconut, plus more for Topping

Preheat Oven to 350 Degrees. Prepare the faux egg as directed on box (1 1/2 teaspoons EnerG plus 2 Tbsp. WARM water). Mix together and set aside.

Mix the dry ingredients – flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder and cinnamon – together in a large bowl. Add the oil, applesauce, vanilla, and egg replacer. Mix by hand until all ingredients are fully incorporated.

Measure out and add the chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut. Gently mix in until evenly spread throughout batter. Place all into a greased pie plate or baking dish. Add extra chocolate chips, walnuts, and coconut to the top (I was very liberal with this!).

Bake for 25-30 minutes, checking to see when Blondies begin to brown – coconut will brown very quickly, but this doesn’t mean the rest is fully cooked). Slice into pie-shaped servings and serve with your favorite ice cream!

7 thoughts on “A Pie Named Blondie

  1. I have to say they were very YUMMY!!! It’s awesome among families the way everyone has something they provide that’s unique and different than anyone else. God is Awesome that way!

  2. Thanks so much! My son is allergic to eggs, wheat, peanuts and tree nuts…obviously I will leave out the nuts but I think I must follow your blog now! 🙂 (Oh, and my husband LOOOOVES blondies!)

  3. I totally hear you on wanting to provide allergy-free food that’s good enough that everyone will want to have some. And this really looks like it fits the bill. can’t wait to try it.

Leave a Reply

