While I’m certainly not “dieting” for the New Year, I have realized that I need to do something about the sugar binge I went on for the last month (or two). The Maker’s Diet is always my go-to when it comes to getting back to basics, but let’s face it – there is no way to do Phase 1 of the Maker’s Diet and go out with friends or have a nice date night, and not be stressed over what I’m going to put in my mouth.

For a week now, I’ve pretty much eaten only a handful of foods, but it’s amazing the effect that only a few days can have not only on my attitude and outlook towards my body, but physically, as well. Getting rid of the carbs has meant that the water retention vanished overnight, and I’ve had much more energy for yoga.

While I haven’t completely stuck to the Phase 1 rules, I feel that I’ve toed the line fairly well. The only real alteration I made was adding in Goat milk and cheese, because honestly, if Phase 1 allows for Goat yogurt and Kefir, there can’t be THAT much difference.

I’ve primarily eaten some combination of the following:

Breakfast

  • Nitrate Free Turkey Bacon
  • Goat Cheese
  • Nuts
  • Goat Yogurt
  • Blueberries, Blackberries, Strawberries

Lunch

  • TONS of Spring Greens
  • Goat Cheese
  • Nitrate Free Chicken Sausage or Turkey Breast
  • Nuts
  • Olive Oil based Salad Dressing (I love the 365 brand Organic Herbs de Provence)

Snack

  • More Nuts
  • 1/2 Decaf Coffee with Goat Milk and a Small Amount of Powdered Stevia

Dinner

  • Steak, Fish, or Chicken
  • Spring Greens
  • Asparagus, Broccoli, or some other decently palatable Green Vegetable
  • More Goat Cheese

With all that said, I’ve also decided to give myself a bit of a break at times. Tonight – being date night – I’ll be going to any one of several Mexican restaurants. That means I’m going to have some tortilla chips…and a beverage of some sort. And you know what? That’s OK. If I don’t allow myself to at least have 1 meal a week that let’s me relax and enjoy myself (and rid myself of the monotony of meat and cheese), I’ll probably go crazy and eat an entire cake or some such nonsense.

Not relaxing will also mean obsessing over it to the point of idolatry. Which is why if I want popcorn at the movies tonight, I may get a small bag. In the morning, I’ll be back to a very healthy meal plan, and my body will thank me for not being religious to anything except the Word.

One thought on “The Maker’s Diet and a Healthy Dose of Moderation

  1. hello, i need to start the maker’s diet too(though I haven’t got a copy of the book),however due to my past I’ve gotten so much ‘food&exercise/macro anxieties’,fear of getting fat/chubby again(bc I’m currently underweight,I guess) and practical issues as to how to go about all the prepping stuff when you aren’t home during the day.(Also seeing your meal schedule you mostly eat proteins?)
    I was wondering if you did exercise/workout during that phase?and if so,what you did and what frequency?

Leave a Reply

