I thought about entitling this post “A Tale of Two Cookies,” but thought that perhaps others had over-played that title already. So instead of going for clever, I went with a more straightforward approach.

Yesterday, I worked. I cleaned the house from top to bottom, washed clothes, and worked on numerous school projects. After all that, my stomach was growling, demanding that I feed it after such a strenuous morning! The first thing I thought of was cookies. Perhaps not the healthiest thing to put in an empty stomach, but a craving is a craving, and my mind was made up. With cookies on the brain, I set about finding a recipe that would be delicious, as well as gluten free.

I finally decided on TWO recipes. When baking and using alternative flours, the final product may be quite different from what was originally claimed. Not wanting to fail in my cookie attempts, I ensured that at least one batch would turn out delicious by baking two versions. I also altered the recipes to match what I envisioned for my little indulgence. Guess what? They were both a success! While I now have an over-abundance of cookies, my sweet tooth is sufficiently satisfied.

Almond Meal Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 1/2 Cups Almond Meal
  • 1/4 Cup Butter, Room Temperature
  • 1/3 Cup Honey Granules (or Sugar of your Preference)
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 375. In a bowl, cream Butter and Honey Granules until smooth. Mix in the egg, then add vanilla, salt, and baking soda. Slowly add Almond Meal to the mixture until all is incorporated. Fold in the Chocolate Chips.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and then scoop dough by the spoonful. Bake for 12 minutes, or until golden.

Nut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1/2 Cup Almond Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Peanut Butter (I prefer Earth Balance)
  • 3/4 Cup Honey Granules
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 350. In a bowl, stir together Almond Butter, Peanut Butter, Honey Granules, Egg, Vanilla, Baking Soda, and Salt until well blended. Mix in the Chocolate Chips. Drop balls of dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet, giving them enough room to spread while cooking. Baking for 10 minutes, or until golden.

Enjoy, and let me know which is your favorite!

This blog is a part of Slightly Indulgent Tuesdays!
5 thoughts on “Two Delicious Chocolate Chip Cookies that Anyone will Love

  1. I love the Almond Meal cookies. I am making my third batch. I wasn’t able to find the honey granules so instead I used Organic Maple Sugar from Trader Joes. It is an awesome substitute for regular sugar and low carb :). Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to make the peanut butter ones!

Leave a Reply

