Disney's Grand Floridan Resort

No matter the location I travel to or the posh hotels I sleep in, I will always love Disney’s Grand Floridian the most. The beautiful lobby with its larger-than-life bird cages, the smells that envelope you in a warm embrace, and the feeling of falling down the rabbit hole to find yourself in the Victorian era all make me smile.

The Grand Floridan Lobby invites you to sit and stay awhile

On our last trip, my husband got a massage at the onsite spa, while I simply sat in the lobby next to the piano player. I watched the families coming and going, content to just be in the moment – which is unusual for me!


During that same stay, we had dinner at Citricos, located on the second floor of the main building. It was truly a fantastic experience. The ambiance was hushed and calm – a nice change from the chaos that some of Disney’s restaurants can have. The food was also divine, and the servers very understanding about my Gluten issues. It was a wonderful date night for us!

After being seated and ordering drinks, we both looked over the menu. Our server went to speak with the chef, and then brought him back with her so that he could discuss my options. He also brought a basket of bread with the tastiest butter…I had to capture it on camera and share it with you!

Duck Ravioli

Jeremy began with the Duck Ravioli, which must be on their spring menu, because looking at the online menu for winter 2011, it does not show up. That aside, he loved it. The sauce was rich and smooth, the duck tender, and the portion size perfect.

Blue Crab Pave

I chose the Blue Crab Pave, which also turned out to be picture perfect. The capers made the dish, with their saltiness adding even more flavor to the avocado, crab and fennel-celery salad. Once again, the sauce highlighted it all. We are definitely sauce people!

Cosmopolitan

After a small break, we ordered entrees. We had just enough time to sip at our drinks and take in the gorgeous views of the Grand Floridian’s lawns before the dishes were placed in front of us.

Oak-Grilled Filet

Ever faithful to his favorites, Jeremy had ordered the Oak Grilled Filet. It looked amazing! Before ordering he had been torn between this and the Short Ribs, but after seeing the dish in all its glory, he was glad he stuck with his first inclination. The filet was seated atop a mound of Quattro Formaggi mashed potatoes, and it was covered in a mouth-watering Glace de Viande. Topping it all were Spanish onions, peppadews and banana peppers.

Seared Tofu

Unlike my husband, I had gone out on a limb and ordered the Seared Tofu. After I saw it I also knew I had made the right decision. It was rich and comforting, with a sun-dried tomato sauce that was seasoned perfectly. The Eggplant and Zucchini Ratatouille, Roasted Mushrooms, and Lentils all blended well with the tofu to create something that made me think of fireplaces and warm kitchens.

I had assumed that my dessert options wouldn’t include much beside sorbet, but I was extremely excited (even though my belly was quite full) when the chef informed me he would be bringing me a REAL dessert.

Lemon-Scented Cheesecake

Jeremy ordered the Lemon-Scented Cheesecake, which was pretty as a picture with its White Chocolate Ganache – he ate the entire thing.

Chocolate Banana Tart

I was able to have the Chocolate Banana Tart, which they make flourless. The chocolate that crowned my plate hailed from Belgium, and you’d better believe that I took a big bite out of it, as well!

And a Hidden Mickey!

Our experience was amazing – it simply reaffirmed my love for the Grand Floridian. Perhaps one day soon we will be able to stay there, but for now I can be content with visits to their lobby and experiences such as we had at Citricos. We even spotted a hidden mickey!

2 thoughts on “Citricos at Disney’s Grand Floridian Resort

  1. Great blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own blog soon but I’m a little lost on
    everything. Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Many thanks!

Leave a comment