I’ve been on the hunt for a grain free peach cobbler for months – long before peaches were actually in season. Now that they’re overflowing the Franklin Farmer’s Market, I knew it was high-time to commit and actually make some cobbler!

This is a spinoff of an Elana’s Pantry recipe. Her Peach Crisp looked tempting, but I think I’m more of a cobbler girl!

Summertime Peach Cobbler

  • 6 Peaches, Sliced
  • 1 1/2 Cups Almond Meal
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 3 Tbsp. Arrowroot Powder
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1/4 Cup Oil (I used a combo of Coconut and Butter)
  • Scant 1/4 Cup Honey
  • 1/8 tsp. Stevia Powder

Preheat oven to 350. Place peaches in a large bowl and toss with Vanilla and Arrowroot Powder until evenly coated. Place in a coated baking dish that has a cover. In a smaller bowl, combine Almond Meal, Salt, Baking Soda, Oil and Honey. Crumble this mixture over peaches. Cover and bake for 1 hour, or until the juices begin to bubble on top of dish. Remove cover and bake until golden brown.

Serve with lots of Vanilla Ice Cream!

6 thoughts on “Summertime Peach Cobbler

  1. Amanda,
    Your recipes look so yummy! I read your comparison about the Maker’s Diet, Primal/Paleo, etc. And you mentioned that you have found your own program /style of eating? If so, how does one do that? It is SO confusing with what is out there. I tried them all it seems. I do have Hashimoto’s/IBS/diverticulosis, colitis, autoimmune conditions, etc. But I noticed when I added grains foods like rice or bread or pasta (non gluten all of it) my bm’s were not as erratic or explosive. And yet, primal says no grains for autoimmune/health. It is like, ok what do I eat and how would I know. What I eat today might “bother” me in 3 days – how the heck do you know? It is really getting rough and scary to figure it all out. Not sure if testing would help either. It is not as easy as one would make it out to be. Any thoughts would be appreciated…. Also, I need to try to gain healthy weight, not lose anymore. Blessings to you,

    1. PS: I saw your yummy peanut butter bars recipe – which has grains in it? I thought you were off grains?

      1. Yeah, that recipe was before I went grain free! I’ll have to tweak it a bit for this holiday season, and then post a revised version.

      2. Thanks Amanda, so to the above email – why did you change from The Maker’s and when/how did you know when it was time and what to eat so it would not create any health issues for you?

    2. Hey! Well I literally tried everything and figured it out over the course of about 3 years. I know – that’s not encouraging to hear! I did an elaborate elimination diet after awhile – the doctor did a blood test to check for all food sensitivities. For 3 months there were about 26 foods I couldn’t eat. Then I slowly added a food or two back in to see how it would feel after that 3 days you’re talking about. What was weird about the test though, is that it showed I was highly allergic to eggs. Yet when I added them back in, everything was fine! Not a reaction at all. Gluten, however, was a serious issue. Even the smallest amount would have my stomach punching me from the inside! I quickly realized that was the culprit.

      Now, after that, it was just a matter of preference. I can eat GF grains and not “feel” bad, but I feel better when I take them out. And knowing what I know about them and how our body doesn’t process them correctly makes me realize why I too have issues with IBS.

      I know this isn’t the most helpful advice – I wish I could tell you there was a test you could take that would give you exactly the eating plan that would be best for your body. Unfortunately, you kind of have to do it the hard way! I am Primal for the most part (not Paleo because I eat organic cheeses), and will occasionally allow myself popcorn or tortilla chips as a treat. I hope this helps you out even slightly!!

Leave a comment