The final day before the diet, and I felt like Augustus Gloop. Here I was, being given my “last supper” so to speak, right at Halloween. The candy didn’t just tempt me, it had me. Remember the scene in Willy Wonka, where Augustus gets sucked into the Chocolate River? That was me. Eating everything in sight like a person sick in the head. Honestly, if anyone needed a detox after that, I did!

To Some Extent, I Really Was Eating Like I Was Never Going To Have It Again. I Relate to Augustus!

Phase One of the Maker’s Diet is all about getting you back to basics. Stabilizing your blood sugar, reducing infection, balancing hormones and enhancing digestion – it sounds like EXACTLY what I need! So in order to fix all these imbalances, the diet calls for a temporary hold on even healthy foods such as fruits, whole grains, and honey. Keep in mind that the book also mentions that if you are very overweight or have health issues, Phase One is for you. If you’re extremely healthy, or even want to improve on your health, you can skip on over to phase three. Jordan Rubin does recommend everyone practicing Phase One for at least a few days, in order to balance out all those issues.

Now on to the Food. For two weeks, you can eat a wide variety of meats and vegetables. I’ve decided to provide you with a full list below, because it really can’t be found anywhere online!

Meat (organic, grass fed): Beef, Lamb, Venison, Goat, Veal, Buffalo, Elk, Meat Bone soup/stock, Liver and Heart, Beef or buffalo sausage or hot dogs (no port casing, nitrite/nitrate free, use sparingly in phase one)

Fish: All fish are approved as long as it’s wild freshwater/ocean-caught, and the fish MUST have had scales. Canned salmon and tuna are good if canned in spring water, AVOID all shellfish and breaded/fried fish

Poultry (organic, pastured): Chicken, Guinea fowl, Duck, Cornish Game Hen, Turkey, Poultry Bone soup/stock, Chicken or Turkey Bacon (no pork casing, nitrite/nitrate free), Chicken or Turkey Sausage or Hot Dogs (no pork casing, nitrite/nitrate free, use sparingly in phase one), Liver and Heart

Eggs (pastured, free range, organic): Chicken and Duck eggs (whole with yolk)

Dairy (organic, raw preferred): Goat’s Milk Yogurt (plain), Homemade Goat Milk Kefir, Soft goat’s milk cheese, Goat’s Milk Hard Cheese, Sheep’s Milk Hard Cheese

Fats and Oils (organic): Oil/Butter (Ghee), Avocado, Goat’s Milk Butter (raw/unpasteurized preferred), Cow’s Milk Butter (grassfed, raw/unpasteurized preferred), Extra Virgin Coconut Oil (best for cooking), Extra Virgin Olive Oil (not best for cooking), Flaxseed Oil (not for cooking), Hempseed Oil (not for cooking), Expeller Pressed Sesame Oil, Coconut Milk/Cream (canned)

Vegetables (organic fresh or frozen): Broccoli, Squash (winter or summer), Asparagus, Beets, Cauliflower, Brussels Sprouts, Cabbage, Carrots, Celery, Cucumber, Eggplant, Pumpkin, Garlic, Onion, Okra, Lettuce (leaf of all kinds), Spinach, Mushrooms, Peas, Peppers, String Beans, Tomatoes, Artichoke (French, not Jerusalem), Leafy Greens (kale, collard, broccoli rabe, mustard greens, etc), Raw Leafy Greens (endive, escarole, radicchio, arugula, frisse, etc), Sprouts (broccoli, sunflower, pea shoots, radish, etc), Sea Vegetables (kelp, dulse, nori, kombu, hijiki), Raw Fermented Vegetables (lacto-fermented only, no vinegar)

Beans and Legumes (soaked or fermented): Lentils, Small amounts of fermented Soybean Paste (miso) as a broth

Nuts and Seeds (organic, raw, soaked): Almonds, Pumpkinseeds, Hempseed, Flaxseed, Sunflower seeds, Almond butter (raw), Hempseed butter (raw), Sunflower butter (raw), Pumpkinseed butter (raw), Tahini/Sesame butter (raw)

Condiments, Spices, Seasonings (organic): Salsa (fresh or canned), Tomato Sauce (no added sugar), Guacamole (fresh), Apple Cider Vinegar, Celtic Sea Salt, Mustard, Herbamore seasoning, Omega-3 Mayonnaise, Umeboshi paste, Soy Sauce/Tamari (wheat free), Raw Salad Dressings and Marinades (recipes in book and in Nourishing Traditions Cookbook by Sandy Fallon), Herbs and Spices (no added stabilizers), Pickled Ginger (preservative and color free), Wasabe (preservative and color free), Organic Flavoring Extracts (alcohol based, no sugar added i.e. vanilla, almond, etc)

Fruits (organic, fresh or frozen): Blueberries, Blackberries, Strawberries, Raspberries, Cherries, Grapefruit, Lemon, Lime

Beverages: Purified, nonchlorinated water Natural Sparkling Water (no carbonation added i.e. Perrier), Herbal Teas (organic, unsweetened or with a small amount of honey or Stevia), Raw Vegetable Juice (beet or carrot juice), Lacto Fermented Beverages, Certified Organic Coffee (flavor only with organic cream and a small amount of honey)

Sweeteners: Unheated Raw honey in very small amounts (1 Tbsp. per day maximum)

All that said, sometimes it can be hard to find some of these items, and it can get VERY expensive! I’ve come up with some ways of saving time and money for my family, and will be sharing that in later posts. Also, know that every person is different, so you should tailor a lifestyle plan to fit your own needs. Like I’ve mentioned, I will also be implementing ideas and beliefs from the Weston A. Price Foundation, especially once I get to Phase Three!

12 thoughts on “Maker’s Diet Phase One – Approved Foods

  1. this post is making me laugh i am way too similar! i just heard about this diet plan but more like lifestyle change .. i am going to try it!

  2. I have used the Maker’s Diet several different times. I must admit it is hard in the beginning but worth the sacrifice! I am very strict about following the diet when my colitis is acting up. I always have good results. I have become much more concientious of what I put into my mouth since using nutrition to heal my body. I highly recommend this diet.

    1. I have been diagnosed with colitis and I am struggling very bad with trying to understand the process in getting it into remission. My digesting system really need healing.

  3. Thanks so much for sharing! I read Jordan’s book last year as well as Don Colbert’s book “What Would Jesus Eat.” I am thankful to find your blog, too!

  4. Can you clarify what “soaked” legumes are? Would organic sprouted mung beans or lentils fall under this category?

  5. I’m reading the book and through all the phases it says to avoid almond milk and soy milk, but I can’t find out Why? Does anyone here know why?

Leave a comment